Tax Office to Keep Poros Branch

The Finance Ministry will retain its tax office (DOY) branch on Poros, Piraeus MP Kostas Katsafados said in a statement.
The New Democracy deputy, who represents the Piraeus First Electoral District and Islands, said he had been assured by Deputy Finance Minister Yorgos Mavraganis that the local tax office branches on Poros, Aegina, Kythera, and Spetses would not be closed.
Locals’ concerns about a potential closure as part of government cutbacks had prompted Katsafados to submit a formal question to Parliament on the operation of the islands’ DOY branches.
The ministry decision, which was conveyed orally to Katsafados and the Mayor of Kythera in a meeting, is expected to be formalized on Wednesday.